Cannes Winners Announced for 2013 (Update)

Tonight, during the Closing Ceremony of this 66th Festival de Cannes, the Jury presided over by Steven Spielberg revealed the 66th Film Festivals Cannes winners.

Audrey Tautou hosted Uma Thurman on the stage of the Grand Théâtre Lumière to award Cannes winners with the Palme d’or to the best film among the 20 in Competition.

Jérôme Salle’s "Zulu" starring Orlando Bloom and Forest Whitaker, was screened at the end of the ceremony.

Cannes Winners - Feature Films of Cannes Film Festival

Palme d'Or

LA VIE D’ADÈLE - CHAPITRE 1 & 2 (Blue Is The Warmest Colour) by Abdellatif KECHICHE


Grand Prix


Award for Best Director


Jury Prize

SOSHITE CHICHI NI NARU (Like Father, Like Son / Tel Père, Tel Fils) by KORE-EDA Hirokazu

Award for Best Screenplay

JIA Zhangke for TIAN ZHU DING (A Touch Of Sin)

Award for Best Actress

Bérénice BEJO in LE PASSÉ (The Past) by Asghar FARHADI

Award for Best Actor

Bruce DERN in NEBRASKA by Alexander PAYNE

Cannes Winners - Short Films of Cannes Film Festival

Palme d'Or

SAFE by MOON Byoung-gon

Special Mention - Ex-aequo

HVALFJORDUR (Whale Valley / Le Fjord des Baleines) by Gudmundur Arnar GUDMUNDSSON
37°4 S by Adriano VALERIO

Camera d'Or

ILO ILO by Anthony CHEN presented in the Directors' Fortnight

From today's press conference with the Film Festival's Cannes winners of the awards:

At the end of the Closing Ceremony, the Cannes winners came in turn to meet the press.

Byoung-Gon Moon (Safe), on the Short Film Palme d’Or:
I feel like I’ve been reborn. I’m really happy; that’s all I can say today. It’s the first time I’ve bought a tuxedo, the first time I’ve come to Cannes, and the first time being one of the Cannes winners. And I hope all these firsts will help me move ahead more quickly.

Adriano Valerio (37°4S) on the special mention awarded to his short film:
We’re all delighted. We haven’t stopped laughing and jumping up and down like kids. Let’s hope this will be a breakthrough for our careers.

Gudmundur Arnar Gudmundsson (Hvalfjordur) on the special mention awarded to his short film:
It’s fantastic. This Selection has already opened all kinds of doors, because I’ve just received the green light for the funding of a feature film.

Anthony Chen, winner of the Caméra d’or for Ilo Ilo, which was unanimously awarded the prize in the first round:
I came to Cannes six years ago with a short film which picked up a prize. I’m happy to receive this prestigious prize for my first feature film. Singapore is a little country, and its film industry is no bigger. I hope this prize (Being one of the Cannes winners) will have repercussions for the cinema in Singapore and for the arts in general.

Alexander Payne read out a text from the daughter of Bruce Dern, winner of the Best Actor for Nebraska live:
“Great! I’m driving to Pasadena. I’ll call you back in 30 mins.” He said of Bruce Dern, “I was aware of the great roles he played, but I had to forget them for this character. He was very easy to direct – he had total confidence in me.”

Oscar Isaac, actor in Inside Llewyn Davis (Grand Prix), on the award:
The film revolves around my character but it was the Coen brothers who created its narrative dimension. There are two of them but it’s like they had a single brain which was in many places at the same time. As a result, I just did whatever either of them had said to me last.

Kore-Eda Hirokazu, on the Jury prize awarded to Like Father Like Son:
Before the screening, I was worried. I hadn’t thought of showing the film to the world, because it’s a film about a personal subject, personal doubts. I asked myself whether a film like that could cross borders. During the screening, I realized the answer was yes.

Jia Zhangke, winner of the Best Screenplay for A Touch Of Sin:
It’s the first time I’ve been back here since 2002 and since those years, China has changed a great deal. I think that’s what interested the Festival de Cannes and the international press. The film is based on true stories. I hope the film will lead to reflection on the violence in our hearts and the uses to which we put it.

Amat Escamante for the Best Director prize awarded to Heli:
The film represents my feelings on today’s Mexico. I’m not political and I don’t represent Mexico. I’m just a citizen. Who happens to make films.

Bérénice Béjo, winner of Best Female Actress for Le Passé:
I’m really surprised and I want in particular to thank Asghar Farhadi because this prize is linked to him. He’s a director who knows so well how to watch actors, and how to tell stories. I look to him. It’s inconceivable that this prize is just for me because without him and the film team, I’d be nothing.

Abdellatif Kechiche, Adèle Exarchopoulos and Léa Seydoux on the Palme d’Or awarded to La Vie d’Adèle - Chapitre 1 & 2

Abdellatife Kechiche: I’m touched. The successful elements of a film are the success of everyone, and the elements that fail also belong to everyone. The strength of this film is the sort of fusion between us, with the other actors, the technicians. It’s been a real team effort. All I wanted was for us to work in this spirit, which is something like a family spirit.

Adèle Exarchopoulos: It’s universal. It’s a love story. If it’s also a hymn to tolerance, then that’s all the more gratifying.

Léa Seydoux: What brought us together was the love that existed between us, and perhaps our sense of humor.

Reported by B. de M. de B.P.

More on for Cannes Winners of Un Certain Regard.

Cinéfondation and Short Films Awards of Cannes Film Festival

The Cinéfondation and Short Films Jury headed by Jane Campion and including Maji-da Abdi, Nicoletta Braschi, Nandita Das and Semih Kaplano? lu, has awarded the 2013 Cinéfondation Prizes during a ceremony held in the Buñuel Theatre, followed by the screening of the winning films.

The Cinéfondation Selection for Cannes Winners consisted of 18 student films, chosen out of nearly 1 550 entries coming from 277 film schools around the world.

“The Jury were unanimous in their choice for the awarded films to Cannes winners and want to congratulate the filmmakers for the excellence and maturity of their cinematic voices.”

First Prize:
NEEDLE directed by Anahita Ghazvinizadeh
The School of the Art Institute of Chicago, USA

Second Prize:
WAITING FOR THE THAW (En attendant le dégel) directed by Sarah Hirtt
INSAS, Belgium

Third Prize ex-aequo:
ÎN ACVARIU (In the Fishbowl) directed by Tudor Cristian JURGIU
UNATC, Romania

Joint Third Prize:
PANDY (Pandas) directed by Matúš VIZÁR
FAMU, Czech Republic

Source: Cannes Film Festival

For more information regarding Cannes Winners and the awards, please visit the official website at:

EYES IN Magazine is live with the Cannes Winners of the Film Festival 2013, bringing you the latest news in innovative cinema. Please check daily as we update it with the festival happenings.

Please remember to "Like" us on Facebook!

Recent Tweets

The latest EYES IN™ Daily!
EYES IN™ (2 hours ago)
The latest EYES IN™ Daily!
EYES IN™ (Yesterday)
The latest EYES IN™ Daily! #blackpanther #timesup
EYES IN™ (2 days ago)
The latest EYES IN™ Daily! #fcmostinnovative #fastfromthepast
EYES IN™ (3 days ago)
The latest EYES IN™ Daily!
EYES IN™ (6 days ago)

Recent Video

  • Mauritshuis Reopened by King Willem-Alexander - Opening Ceremony 1
  • Mauritshuis Reopened by King Willem-Alexander - Opening Ceremony 2
  • Mauritshuis Reopened by King Willem-Alexander - Court Balancing act
  • Girl with a Pearl Earring is brought home
  • Mauritshuis Reopened by King Willem-Alexander
  • Vivian Van Dijk interviews Dermatologist Dr. Diane Berson

Email Subscription

Email Format